Meet Council

Town Council
Town Council is the legislative body of our Town government.
Town Council consists of seven Councilmembers, each of whom is elected from the district in which they reside to serve four-year overlapping terms.  

Town Council Group 2017
Elections are held in November of even numbered years, and Council seats are up for election on an alternating basis. Councilmember terms are limited to two consecutive four-year terms.
  • Districts 3, 5, and 7 will be elected in November of 2018
  • Districts 1, 2, 4 and 6 were elected during the November 2016 election
Councilmembers elected in the November election take office at the first regular meeting scheduled in December. 
At this organizational meeting of Council, one of its members is elected as Mayor by a majority vote of the Council, as well as one member elected as Mayor Pro Tem, also by a majority vote. The Mayor and Mayor Pro Tem are elected every two years.

The Mayor presides at Council meetings and is recognized as the head of the Town government for all ceremonial and legal purposes. The Mayor has the same powers and responsibilities of a Councilmember. The Mayor Pro Tem performs duties and has the powers of the Mayor when the Mayor is unavailable.

Additionally, Councilmembers serve and represent the Town on numerous local, county and regional committees and boards.