Liquor Licensing

All forms are submitted to the Town as approval begins with the Town Clerk's Office. If you have questions, email us.  

PLEASE NOTE: We have a new entrance to Town Hall; and you are asked to sign in on the kiosk. 


We may not always be available, so we kindly ask you:
  • Mail or turn in your paperwork at the front desk (they cannot answer questions)
  • email us with any questions
  • email us if you require an appointment   
Mail complete application, attachments and fees to:
Castle Rock Town Clerk
Attn: Lisa Anderson
100 N. Wilcox St.
Castle Rock, CO  80104

Please see tabs below for specific applications, information, and fees.

Overview
Applications are approved locally and by the State (except special events and tastings which are approved locally only). Town Council appoints a Colorado licensed attorney as the hearing officer to act as the Liquor Licensing Authority.

New applications for Retail Liquor Stores and Liquor Licensed Drug Stores must be at least 1,500 feet from another Retail Liquor Store or Liquor Licensed Drug Store.

No Liquor license will be issued that is within 500 feet from a school.

Hearings
Hearings are conducted, as needed, for new licenses and possible suspension or revocation of a liquor license in the Town Hall Council Chambers at 100 N. Wilcox St.

Administrative approval
All other liquor applications are approved administratively.

Liquor Law
It is your responsibility to be in compliance - refer to the State website for any updates to liquor laws, rules and regulations.

Compliance Checks
Compliance checks and inspections are performed by the Police Department and the Colorado Department of Revenue.
Liquor License Forms
State Department of Revenue Liquor and Tobacco Enforcement Division

T

ransfer liquor license


Once a complete application has been received and preliminary reviewed, a Temporary Liquor License may be obtained to serve alcohol if the request is submitted along with the additional fee (see below).

Once the state issues the liquor license, we will then issue the local liquor license and mail to the applicant.


The applicant must submit to the Town Clerk's Office


  1. Application - Include all required attachments (or 3.2% beer license application)
  2. Fill out if you are a sole proprietor or if you are a husband and wife partnership
  3. Individual history report for a background check for each officer of the business
  4. Affidavit of transfer
  5. Wholesaler Affidavit of Compliance
  6. Temporary permit application (if desired)
  7. Copies of:
    • Drivers license
    • Local sales tax and business license
    • TTB permit (if Brewpub license)
  8. Fingerprints for each officer of the business
    Fingerprints are completed by the Police Department on Tuesdays and Thursdays.Tell them it is for a liquor license, so they use our forms, then return with your application.
  9. Diagram 8 1/2" x 11" of Licensed Premise marked as follows:  
    • All levels, if applicable
    • Dimensions
    • Exits
    • Kitchen area
    • Liquor storage area
    • Outdoor areas including fences, etc.
    • Outline entire area that is to be licensed in BOLD
  10. Certification that all servers have completed TIPS training (list of trainers)
  11. Three checks payable to: 
    • Town of Castle Rock (see below) (+$100 for Temporary license if desired)
    • Town of Castle Rock - background check fee ($39.50 per person)
    • Colorado Department of Revenue (see below)
Upon approval by the Liquor Licensing Authority and the Colorado Department of Revenue as well as confirmation of a Certificate of Occupancy and compliance, a license will be issued.

Transfer fees (includes application and license fees)
   Town of Castle Rock  Colorado Department of Revenue
Art License $641.25 $1,858.75
Beer and Wine License $648.75 $1,901.25
Brew-Pub License $675 $2,300
Club License $641.25 $1,858.75
Hotel and Restaurant or
Lodging and Entertainment
$675 $2,050
Liquor Licensed Drugstore $622.50 $1,777.50
Retail Liquor Store $622.50 $1,777.50
Tavern License $675 $2,050
Retail 3.2% Beer On, Off, and On/Off Premises $603.75 $1,646.25


  1. Renew
  2. New License
  3. Changes
  4. Special Events
  5. Tastings

Renewals (submit at least 60 days prior to expiration)


If you need to renew your license, please use the Renewal Application Form the State mails to you 60 to 90 days before your license expires, or use the form linked below.

The applicant must submit to the Town Clerk's Office


Note: If you have any changes to the manager, premise, etc., see information under the changes tab and submit the appropriate documents and fees.

Renewal fees (includes $50 renewal and license fees)


  Town of Castle Rock  Colorado Dept. of Revenue
Art License $91.25 $308.75
Beer and Wine License $98.75 $351.25
Brew-Pub License $125 $750
Club License $91.25 $308.75
Hotel and Restaurant  $125 $500
+$100/optional premise
Lodging and Entertainment  $125 $500
Liquor Licensed Drugstore $72.50 $227.50
Retail Liquor Store $72.50 $227.50
Tavern License $125 $500
Retail 3.2% Beer On, Off and On/Off Premises $53.75 $96.25
Late Renewal before 90 days past due $500 $500
Reissue Fee (90-180 days past due) $500 $500
Application Reissue Fine $25/day beyond 90 days $25/day beyond 90 days